Skip to main content
Super mega nav Outlet

Up to 30% off RRP as standard

Clarks Product Safety Recall

Clarks is recalling eight styles of Breeze and Brinkley women’s shoes, all in navy or dark navy-blue colours sold the spring/summer 2022 season due to a chemical hazard. Specifically, prolonged and direct contact with the shoes’ upper material can expose the wearer to the chemicals benzidine or dimethoxybenzidine, which are found in Azo Dyes, which are toxic and can cause adverse health effects.

If you have a pair of these shoes, please contact our Customer Care team to arrange to return the shoes to us and for us to refund you:

  • +443300525306

Breeze Ave (Dark Navy)Article number: 26165269This style was only sold in the Americas

Breeze Shore (Navy)Article number: 26164910This style was only sold in the Americas

Breeze Step (Dark Navy)Article number: 26166718This style was only sold in the Americas

Breeze Step (Navy and White)Article number: 26165290This style was only sold in the Americas

Breeze Step (Navy)Article number: 26166904This style was only sold in the Americas

Brinkley Shore (Navy)Article number: 26166596This style was sold outside of the Americas

Brinkley Step (Navy)Article number: 26166603This style was sold outside of the Americas

Brinkley Ave (Dark Navy)Article number: 26166623This style was sold outside of the Americas

Please note that this is a global recall and not all styles would have been sold in every country.

Customers can identify if their shoes need to be returned by checking the article number. This is the first 8 digits of the 12-digit number and can be found inside the shoe. An example of the label is shown below.

Our Clarks Customer Care team can support you with any additional enquiries, questions or concerns you may have. You can contact them by phone or e-mail:

  • +443300525306 calling from the UK & EU
  • +13393304505 calling from the USA
  • +12893019330 calling from Canada

The helpline opening hours are Monday to Saturday 8am to 11pm GMT, 9am to 12am Central European Time, 6am to 6pm Eastern, 6am to 5pm Central, 6am to 4pm Mountain, and 6am to 3pm Pacific.

Questions you may have

How do I return the shoes?

If you have a pair of these shoes, contact the Customer Care team to arrange to return the shoes to us and for us to refund you.

  • +443300525306

How do I claim a refund?

After registering your return with our Customer Care team, you’ll be asked to return the shoes to us. Once our courier has the shoes, we will process your refund.

What are benzidine and dimethoxybenzidine?

Benzidine and dimethoxybenzidine are chemicals found in Azo dyes, which have been used to colour or dye a large range of products, including fabrics and leathers, but the extent to which azo dyes can be used is now restricted by some countries.

What is the risk to me?

Prolonged and direct contact with the shoes’ upper material can expose the wearer to the chemicals benzidine or dimethoxybenzidine, which are toxic and can cause adverse health effects.

Can I bring the shoes into store to be returned?

Yes, you can return them to one of our stores.